Jurors 2020 - International Piano Competition

The International Piano Forum Frankfurt is delighted to announce the jurors for the 10th International German Piano Award 2020 in alphabetic order:

Laureate Jury

Yalchin Adigezalov


Permanent conductor of the Azerbaidjan State Opera


Jin Hyoun Baek

South Korea

Artistic Director of Busan Festival Orchestra, Artistic Director & Executive Chairman of Busan Maru International Music Festival, Principal Guest Conductor of Tianjin Symphony Orchestra



Pavel Baleff


Chief Conductor Philharmonic Orchestra Baden Baden


Renchang Fu

People´s republic of China

Artistic Director, Chief Conductor of Xiamen Philharmonic Orchestra


Juri Gilbo


Artistic Director and Conductor at the Russian Chamber Philharmonic St. Petersburg


Sascha Goetzel


Chief Conductor at Kuopi Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director and Chief Director of the Borusan Philharmonic Orchestra


Nimrod David Pfeffer


Pianist and Assistant Conductor at The Metropolitan Opera


Marian Rybicki


Pianist and Professor Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris,
Artistic Director of the Animato Association Paris


Wolfram Schmitt-Leonardy


Pianist and Professor for Piano at the Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Mannheim, at the École Normale de Musique de Paris Alfred Cortotm, at the International Piano Academy in Brescia and member of the Lang Lang International Music Foundation, Germany


JeungBeum Sohn

South Korea

Pianist, Winner of the International German Piano Award 2019 and winner of the ARD Piano Competition

Amir Tebenikhin


Pianist and artistic director of Beethoven Festival in Almaty, Kazakhstan. Winner of the 1st International German Piano Award 2011

Jie Yuan

People´s Republic of China

Chairman of the Piano Department at Harbin Conservatory of Music, Vice President and Chairman of the Piano Department at JiLin College of the Arts, Vice President and the Director of International Affairs at Hangzhou Liangzhu International Arts Academy, Image Ambassador of Hong Kong Piano Music Society, Image Ambassador of Chona South Korea International Arts Festival and Image Ambassador of Beijing University Love Foundation, People’s Republic of China



Nomination Jury

Prof. Paul Dan


Pianist, Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Mannheim

Prof. Bernd Goetzke


Docent at the Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover. Last Student of Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli


Dmitri Levkovich


Pianist, Winner of the 3rd International German Piano Award 2013, Winner of numerous other international piano competitions